ST. JOHN AMBULANCE INVESTS 24 OUTSTANDING VOLUNTEERS INTO THE ORDER OF ST. JOHN
June 30, 2022 By Julie Forget

Last Updated Monday, June 27, 2022 9:03PM UTC

Sub-Lieutenant Sean Livingston receives bronze lifesaving medal of the Order

OTTAWA, ON (June 20, 2022) – Her Excellency the Right Honourable Mary Simon, Governor General of Canada, in her capacity as the Prior of the Priory of Canada, invested 24 outstanding Canadian volunteers into the Order of St. John at a ceremony held in the Senate Building of Canada on Saturday, June 18, 2022. Sub-Lieutenant Sean Livingston was also presented with a Lifesaving Medal of the Order in Bronze.

The Order of St. John recognizes meritorious service and dedication to duty by the volunteers of St. John Ambulance. The Order of St. John is a Royal Order of Chivalry and is part of the Canadian Honours System. As such, all appointments are sanctioned by the Governor General on behalf of the Queen of Canada.

Receiving the highest honour that the Order can bestow – the grade of Bailiff Grand Cross, was Mr. Robert White from Brooklin, ON. White began his volunteer career with St. John Ambulance as a young cadet in 1988 and served in various roles of ever-increasing responsibilities at the local, provincial, national, and international levels ever since. In 2012 he was elected Deputy Chancellor and in 2014 became Chancellor for the Priory of Canada. Over the past 34 years White has contributed over 16,000 hours of voluntary service to St. John.

Promoted to the grade of Knight was Major Robert Frank (retired) of Pointe Claire, QC, E. David Hodgins of Victoria, BC, and Mr. Richard Neville of Ottawa, ON. 

John Macdonell of Ottawa, ON, Dr. Kevin McCormick of Sudbury, ON, and Andrew Philpot of Kamloops, BC, were promoted to the grade of Commander at the ceremony. 

Receiving the Insignia of Officer were Brandon Fang, Patricia Kearney, and Vicken Koundakjian of Ottawa, ON and Lieutenant-Colonel Henri Levasseur (retired) of Quebec City, QC. 

The following individuals received the Insignia of Member:
 

  • Corporal Stephen Brown – Peachland, BC
  • Major-General Guy Chapdelaine – Montreal, QC
  • Paul Filkiewicz – Toronto, ON
  • Captain Mark Gallant – Nepean, ON
  • Lieutenant-Colonel Paul Joudrey (retired) – London, ON
  • Gloria Madden – Brockville, ON
  • Christopher McCormick – Sudbury, ON
  • Michael Osborne – Oakville, ON
  • Warrant Officer Claire Paquet – Jacques-Cartier, QC
  • Jason Paul – Mountain, ON
  • Lisa Paul – Mountain, ON
  • Alexandra Tardif-Morency – Laval, QC
  • Jerry Rankin – Kanata, ON

 

On January 13, 2021, Sean Livingston helped save the life of a man that had smashed his car into a tree outside his home. Livingston instructed his wife to call 911 after hearing a loud crash in the middle of the night. Approaching the car, Livingston saw a man slumped over inside and could smell rotten eggs in the air from a gas leak. Fighting the urge to flee, Livingston slid the driver out of the car onto the ground while supporting his head and neck and dragged him as far as possible to safety while they waited for Emergency Services to arrive. For his heroic and selfless acts of bravery, and for his knowledge and use of first aid, Sub-Lieutenant Sean Livingston was awarded the St. John Life-saving medal at the Bronze level.
 

About St. John Ambulance 
As Canada’s standard for excellence in First Aid and CPR services, St. John Ambulance offers innovative programs ensuring Canadians receive the best quality training. Revenue generated from training supports St. John Ambulance’s charitable work. St. John Ambulance is an international humanitarian organization and part of the Order of St. John. Our Vision: Everyone in Canada prepared to save a life. Learn more at www.sja.ca.


Contact: 
Julie Forget
Director, Marketing & Communications
St. John Ambulance National Office
Cell: (819) 210.2064  |  Julie.forget@sja.ca

AMBULANCE SAINT-JEAN INTRONISE 24 BÉNÉVOLES ÉMÉRITES DANS L’ORDRE DE SAINT-JEAN
June 27, 2022 Par Julie Forget

Dernière mise à jour Monday, June 20, 2022 8:00PM UTC

Le sous-lieutenant Sean Livingston reçoit la médaille de bronze de sauvetage de l’Ordre

OTTAWA, ONTARIO (le 20 juin 2022) – Son Excellence la très honorable Mary Simon, la gouverneure générale du Canada, dans le cadre de ses fonctions de prieur du Prieuré du Canada, a intronisé 24 bénévoles canadiens émérites dans l’Ordre de Saint-Jean lors d’une cérémonie qui s’est déroulée le samedi 18 juin 2022, dans l’édifice du Sénat du Canada. Le sous-lieutenant Sean Livingston a également reçu la médaille de bronze de sauvetage de l’Ordre.

L’ordre de Sain-Jean souligne le service méritoire et le sens du devoir des bénévoles de l’Ambulance Saint-Jean. L’Ordre de Saint-Jean est un ordre royal de chevalerie qui fait partie du Régime canadien de distinctions honorifiques. Comme telles, toutes les nominations sont sanctionnées par la gouverneure générale au nom de la Reine du Canada.

M. Robert White de Brooklin, en Ontario a reçu la plus haute distinction qui puisse être décernée par l’Ordre – l’insigne de Bailli Grand-Croix. M. White a commencé sa carrière de bénévole à l’Ambulance Saint-Jean en tant que jeune cadet en 1988 et a assumé diverses fonctions y exerçant depuis des responsabilités toujours plus grandes aux paliers municipaux, provinciaux, nationaux et internationaux. En 2012, il a été élu chancelier délégué pour devenir, en 2014, chancelier du Prieuré du Canada. Au cours des 34 dernières années, M. White a consacré plus de 16 000 heures de services bénévoles à l’Ambulance Saint-Jean.

Le major à la retraite Robert Frank de Pointe-Claire, au Québec, M. E. David Hodgins de Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique et M. Richard Neville d’Ottawa, en Ontario, ont été promus au grade de chevalier.

M. John Macdonell d’Ottawa, en Ontario, le Dr Kevin McCormick de Sudbury, en Ontario et M. Andrew Philpot de Kamloops, en Colombie-Britannique, ont été promus au grade de commandeur lors de la cérémonie. 

Parmi les personnes ayant reçu l’insigne d’officier, on retrouve M. Brandon Fang, Mme Patricia Kearney et M. Vicken Koundakjian d’Ottawa, en Ontario et le lieutenant-colonel à la retraite Henri Levasseur de la ville de Québec, au Québec. 

Les personnes suivantes ont reçu l’insigne de membre :
 

  • Le caporal Stephen Brown - Peachland, Colombie-Britannique
  • Le major-général Guy Chapdelaine – Montréal, Québec
  • M. Paul Filkiewicz – Toronto, Ontario
  • Le capitaine Mark Gallant – Nepean, Ontario
  • Le lieutenant-colonel à la retraite Paul Joudrey – London, Ontario
  • Mme Gloria Madden – Brockville, Ontario
  • M. Christopher McCormick – Sudbury, Ontario
  • M. Michael Osborne – Oakville, Ontario
  • L’adjudante Claire Paquet – Jacques-Cartier, Québec
  • M. Jason Paul – Mountain, Ontario
  • Mme Lisa Paul – Mountain, Ontario
  • Mme Alexandra Tardif-Morency – Laval, Québec
  • M. Jerry Rankin – Kanata, Ontario
     

Le 13 janvier 2021, M. Sean Livingston a aidé à sauver la vie d’un homme dont le véhicule est entré en collision avec un arbre à l’extérieur de sa résidence. M. Livingston a demandé à sa femme d’appeler le 911 après avoir entendu un énorme bruit de collision en pleine nuit. À l’approche du véhicule, M. Livingston a aperçu un homme affaissé sur le volant et il pouvait sentir l’odeur d’œuf pourri émanant d’une fuite d’essence. Même si le réflexe normal aurait été de fuir les lieux, M. Livingston a tiré le conducteur hors du véhicule pour le déposer au sol tout en supportant sa tête et son cou en le traînant aussi loin que possible pour le mettre en sûreté en attendant les services d’urgence. Pour cet acte de bravoure héroïque et désintéressé ainsi que pour ses connaissances et son recours à des techniques de secourisme éprouvées, le sous-lieutenant Sean Livingston a reçu la médaille de sauvetage Saint-Jean de niveau bronze.

À propos d’Ambulance Saint-Jean 
En tant que norme d’excellence canadienne en matière de services de secourisme et de RCR, Ambulance Saint-Jean offre des programmes novateurs afin que les Canadiens bénéficient d’une formation de la plus haute qualité. Les revenus provenant des formations contribuent aux initiatives de bienfaisance d’Ambulance Saint-Jean. Ambulance Saint-Jean est un organisme humanitaire international qui fait partie de l’Ordre de Saint-Jean. Notre vision : Que tous les Canadiens soient aptes à sauver une vie. En savoir plus à https://www.sja.ca/fr.

Nous contacter : 
Julie Forget
Directrice, marketing et communications
Bureau national d’Ambulance Saint-Jean
Tél. cell. : (819) 210-2064  |  julie.forget@sja.ca