Banner Image
Meeting room in office

Workplace

Content Summary - banner item 1

Most regions in Canada require that employees have First Aid training, and St. John Ambulance offers a variety of courses designed for the workplace. These courses cover what to do in an emergency situation at your workplace (regardless of industry), and how to intervene quickly to save the lives of your colleagues. 

Image
Medical personnel
Category

First Aid Training For

Basic Life Support (BLS)
Body

Basic Life Support (BLS) refers to a level of CPR training aimed at those working, or planning to work, in the healthcare field. BLS-CPR can be taken on its own, or paired with a Standard First Aid course. The course covers responding to an emergency; resuscitation for Adults, Children, and Infants...

Image
CPR dummy on floor for training
Category

First Aid Training For

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR)
Body

Receiving CPR in the first few minutes after collapsing can mean the difference between life and death. CPR courses cover responding to an emergency, choking, heart attacks, CPR, and AED use. Level A focuses on adult resuscitation only; Level C covers adult, child, infant, and two-rescuer...

Image
Classrooom scene - leaning first aid from St. John Ambulance
Category

First Aid Training For

Emergency First aid
Body

Emergency First Aid (EFA) courses provide instruction on how to handle an emergency in the first few minutes before an ambulance arrives. Most provinces require this level of first aid for workplaces of less than 5 workers on a shift. Each course covers topics such as managing an emergency, CPR...

Image
Category

Secourisme pour

Instructor
Body

The Instructor Development Program is for those who wish to become an instructor with St. John Ambulance. The program is made up of an in-class portion covering how to be an instructor, and a post-class development phase where new instructors teach under the guidance of an experienced instructor.

Image
Category

First Aid Training For

Medical First Responder (MFR)
Body

The MFR/EMR programs expand on the Standard First Aid programs offered by St. John Ambulance and cover advanced patient diagnostics, moving and transporting patients, oxygen administration, spinal immobilisation, and much more. Offered over 5-days (MFR) or 10-days (EMR), the course meets provincial...

Image
Person in yellow top hugging woman in stripes
Category

First Aid Training For

Mental Health
Body

First Aid usually focuses on physical injury and illness; but when there is a mental health emergency most are not prepared to help. The mental health courses offered by St. John Ambulance, in partnership with the Mental Health Commission of Canada, help participants recognize and assist people who...

Image
Male Asian Factory Worker
Category

Cours de secourisme pour

Occupational First Aid (OFA)
Body

Occupational First Aid (OFA) courses meet WorkSafeBC requirements for first aid and are offered in British Columbia only. Levels 1, 2, and 3 are all offered by St. John Ambulance locations in British Columbia. Check with your employer for which level applies to your workplace.

Image
Two Factory Workers with arms crossed.
Category

First Aid Training For

Occupational Health and Safety (OHS)
Body

Standard First Aid (SFA) courses meet provincial regulations for workplace first aid across Canada. Each course covers topics such as managing emergency scenes, CPR, wound care, fractures, medical emergencies, mental health, and more. Courses are generally two days and can be taken as a blended...

Image
2 people in red shirts learning CPR
Category

First Aid Training For

Standard First Aid
Body

Standard First Aid (SFA) courses meet provincial regulations for workplace first aid across Canada. Each course covers topics such as managing emergency scenes, CPR, wound care, fractures, medical emergencies, mental health, and more. Courses are generally two days and can be taken as a blended...

Image
Care worker hand holding patient hand
Category

First Aid Training For

Care Worker
Body

St. John Ambulance is proud to offer the Care Worker Courses. These courses will prepare people to work with the vulnerable population in Canada.

Image
Blue fishing boat in water.
Category

First Aid Training For

Marine
Body

Marine First Aid courses meet Transport Canada requirements for first aid. Both Basic and Advanced are offered (depending on demand) across Canada. Participants are required to have a Candidate Document Number (CDN) to register. Certificates are valid for five years and issued by Transport Canada. 

...
Image
Oil and Gas sunset image.
Category

First aid training for

Oil & Gas
Body

Workers in the oil and gas industry can be exposed to many hazards on a daily basis. St. John Ambulance courses for oil and gas workers help ensure health, safety, and proper education for working in these fields.

Image
Mining trucks. Photo by Dominik Vanyi on Unsplash
Category

First Aid Training For

Mining
Body

At St. John Ambulance we offer safety training courses for the Mining & Exploration industry. Discover more about our Mining & Exploration safety training courses today.

Man having sudden cardiac arrest
AEDs & AED Supplies
Sudden cardiac arrest can happen to anyone, even those with no prior symptoms. A quickly accessible Automated External Defibrillator (AED) can save a life.

Time is of the essence in situations that involve cardiac arrest and using an AED is the ONLY effective intervention.
Classrooom scene - leaning first aid from St. John Ambulance
First Aid Training at Work, Home and Play
St. John Ambulance offers Canada's most comprehensive, state-of-the-art training programs for businesses, individuals, and communities.

Banner Image
Meeting room in office

Au travail

Content Summary - banner item 1

La plupart des régions canadiennes exigent que les employés suivent un cours de secourisme.  Ambulance Saint-Jean propose une variété de cours conçus pour différents milieux de travail.  Ceux-ci expliquent notamment la marche à suivre en cas d’urgence au travail (quelle que soit l’industrie) et comment intervenir rapidement pour sauver la vie d’un collègue.

Image
Medical personnel
Category

Formation en secourisme pour

Soins immédiats en réanimation
Body

Les soins immédiats en réanimation renvoient à un niveau de formation en RCR à l’intention des personnes qui travaillent ou qui prévoient travailler dans le domaine de la santé.  Il est possible de suivre uniquement ce cours ou de le jumeler avec un cours de secourisme standard.  Ce cours aborde les...

Image
CPR dummy on floor for training
Category

FORMATION EN SECOURISME POUR

Réanimation cardiorespiratoire (RCR)
Body

Se faire administrer la RCR dans les premières minutes après s’être effondré peut faire la différence entre la vie et la mort.  Nos cours de RCR abordent les sujets suivants: interventions en cas d’urgence, étouffement, crises cardiaques, RCR et utilisation d’un DEA.  Le niveau A porte uniquement...

Image
Classrooom scene - leaning first aid from St. John Ambulance
Category

Formation en secourisme pour

Secourisme d’urgence
Body

Les cours de secourisme d’urgence montrent comment composer avec une urgence dans les premières minutes qui suivent celle-ci, avant l’arrivée des ambulanciers.  La plupart des provinces exigent ce niveau de formation pour les milieux de travail de moins de cinq travailleurs par quart.  Les cours...

Image
Category

FORMATION EN SECOURISME POUR

Instructeur
Body

Le programme de formation des instructeurs s’adresse à toute personne qui souhaite devenir instructeur pour Ambulance Saint-Jean. Il se compose d’une partie théorique en classe portant sur la façon de devenir instructeur, ainsi que d’une période de développement subséquente pendant laquelle les...

Image
Category

Formation en secourisme pour

Programmes de premier répondant médical (PRM) et de premier...
Body

Ces programmes permettent d’approfondir les notions des programmes de secourisme d’Ambulance Saint-Jean.  Ils abordent les diagnostics avancés, le déplacement et le transport des patients, l’administration d’oxygène, l’immobilisation de la colonne vertébrale, et bien plus encore.  Offerts sur une...

Image
Person in yellow top hugging woman in stripes
Category

Formation en secourisme pour

Santé mentale
Body

Le secourisme met habituellement l’accent sur les blessures physiques et les maladies.  Toutefois, en cas d’urgence de santé mentale, la plupart des gens ne sauraient pas comment aider la victime.  Les cours sur la santé mentale offerts par Ambulance Saint-Jean en collaboration avec la Commission de...

Image
Male Asian Factory Worker
Category

FORMATION EN SECOURISME POUR

Secourisme au travail
Body

Les cours de secourisme au travail répondent aux exigences de WorkSafeBC en matière de secourisme, mais ils sont uniquement offerts en Colombie-Britannique.  Les niveaux 1, 2 et 3 sont tous offerts par les bureaux d’Ambulance Saint-Jean de la Colombie-Britannique.  Veuillez consulter votre employeur...

Image
Two Factory Workers with arms crossed.
Category

FORMATION EN SECOURISME POUR

Santé et sécurité au travail
Body

Les cours de secourisme standard répondent aux règles provinciales en matière de secourisme au travail à l’échelle du Canada.  Chaque cours aborde différents sujets, tels que la prise en charge des situations d’urgence, la RCR, le soin des blessures, les fractures, les urgences médicales, la santé...

Image
2 people in red shirts learning CPR
Category

Formation en secourisme pour

Secourisme standard
Body

Les cours de secourisme d’urgence montrent comment composer avec une urgence dans les premières minutes qui suivent celle-ci, avant l’arrivée des ambulanciers.  La plupart des provinces exigent ce niveau de formation pour les milieux de travail de moins de cinq travailleurs par quart.  Les cours...

Image
Care worker hand holding patient hand
Category

Formation en secourisme pour

Prestateurs de soins
Body

Ambulance Saint-Jean est fier d’offrir des cours de prestateurs de soins.  Ces cours préparent les participants à travailler auprès des populations vulnérables du Canada.

Image
Blue fishing boat in water.
Category

FORMATION EN SECOURISME POUR

Secourisme nautique
Body

Les cours de secourisme nautique répondent aux exigences de Transport Canada en matière de secourisme.  Tant des cours de base que des cours avancés sont offerts (selon la demande) à l’échelle du Canada.  Pour s’inscrire, les participants doivent posséder un numéro de candidat (CDN).  Les...

Image
Oil and Gas sunset image.
Category

FORMATION EN SECOURISME POUR

Pétrole et gaz
Body

Les travailleurs de l’industrie du pétrole et du gaz sont quotidiennement exposés à de nombreux dangers.  Les cours d’Ambulance Saint-Jean élaborés à leur intention permettent d’assurer leur santé, leur sécurité et leur éducation.

Image
Mining trucks. Photo by Dominik Vanyi on Unsplash
Category

FORMATION EN SECOURISME POUR

Industries minière
Body

À l'Ambulance Saint-Jean, nous proposons des cours de formation à la sécurité pour l'industrie minière et l'exploration. Découvrez dès aujourd'hui nos cours de formation à la sécurité dans le secteur de l'exploration et de l'exploitation minières.

Man having sudden cardiac arrest
DEA et Accessoires pour DEA
Un arrêt cardiaque soudain peut arriver à n'importe qui, même à ceux qui ne présentent aucun symptôme préalable. Un défibrillateur externe automatisé (DEA) rapidement accessible peut sauver une vie.

Le temps est essentiel dans les situations d'arrêt cardiaque et l'utilisation d'un DEA est la SEULE intervention efficace.
Classrooom scene - leaning first aid from St. John Ambulance
Formation en secourisme au travail, à la maison et dans les loisirs
Le fait de choisir un cours de secourisme d’Ambulance Saint-Jean vous permettra d’acquérir des compétences de secourisme et de soutenir les collectivités canadiennes.